天澤管理顧問

設計思維喪屍團(中譯本)

一直認為設計思維的出現是一件好事,能把開放型及以人為本的解難方式帶到商界。但是,設計思維的普及同時帶來了淪為大家不求甚解、只求追隨潮語的管理潮流。

這些就是我說的設計思維喪屍(DT Zombies)。他們是一群對設計思維充滿熱情但只停留於迷信階段,沒有深入了解及學習有關概念及方法的人。

學佛有所謂信、解、行、證四個層次。簡單地說,就是先對其有信念,再深入了解細節及去除疑慮,然後是以行動驗證所學,最後才能體現所學。借用這個概念看設計思維,現在就如同其他管理潮流一樣,變成了人人都聽過的必讀詞彙,但內容愈來愈空虛,變成迷信。

這類喪屍有下列特點。

1. 說語總夾雜設計思維的術語

喪屍是空洞沒腦袋的東西,只能重覆吐出沒意義的字詞,他們會將術語重覆組合成冗長但難以理解的句語,例如不斷地「設計design」、「創新innovation」、「需要完成的任務job to be done」、「價值value」、「用戶旅程user journey」、「人物誌persona」、「創意creative」、「期許性desirability」、「UX/UI」等。但滿口的術語不等於掌握知識及能做出成果。而資深一點的喪屍可能會添加各術語的定義,但實際如何執行還是欠奉。

假如你有足夠的耐性去問深入一點,例如「這個設計有何特別?」、「為甚麼你認為它創新?」、「具實來說,你指的是甚麼?」他們便會呆在那裡不知如何應對。

年前我在一個場合聽到本地推動設計思維的機構總監介紹一位設計師及其作品(當中有很多設計思維的運用),介紹的言詞只強調「他那深沉有力的眼神,一看就知是充滿智慧...」。一介草民如我,只聽得頭昏腦脹,不明所以。

2. 萬事報事貼

這群人似乎認為報事貼是設計思維的必須工具,當看到人們在會議中或牆壁上使用報事貼,便認為別人在應用設計思維。

其實報事貼已存在了幾十年,多年來我在不同的場合和會議中都有應用,例如策略會議、檢討或改善流程時,。當須要一同整理概念時,特別好用。但應用不只限於設計思維啊!

喪屍們將使用報事貼等同於應用設計思維,有些更依從刻板的顏色規律,紅的是危機...

切勿將工具與應用等同,一雙跑鞋不會將你變成馬拉松跑手!

3. 不斷湧現的表格畫布

設計思維社群善於創制亮麗的表格畫報。

表格畫布能幫助我們組織構想及引導思考過程,是我很喜愛的一類工具。但畫布不景思考的替代品。喪屍們只著重填滿畫布,而不重視有效完成畫布所需的思考及討論過程。要好好地設計,你可能須要實地考察、訪談、觀察、資料整理、考慮不同的觀點,認真思考及反覆辯證。表格畫布的價值在過程,但喪屍們並不理解。

然而,這是可以理解的。當你面對一張表格,本能便是要填滿它。就如小孩子在收到有字數要求的作文習作時,字數便成了焦點,文章的質素往往會被忽略。

我們應當要留意個別畫布的作用,各框框及元素之間如何整合?完成的畫布是用來說明甚麼樣的故事?如果應用不同的畫布,各畫布之間又如何結合?

4. 設計思維是萬用的靈丹

這一點差不多發生於每一個管理的浪潮。設計思維從以創意解決問題開始,變成了無所不能的工具,可以改變世界!誠言,一套無形的概念及其工具方法可能可以改變世界,但換一個角度看,設計思維是否一套「必須」及「足夠」的方案?還是我們在製造待破的泡沫呢?

並非所有的問題都須要用設計思維來解決,世上有不同類別的問題(你可以參加 Cynefin framework框架),設計思維對某些類型的難題可以較有用。

要變成萬用靈丹,設計思維便開始吞噬其他範疇的概念及方法。有些人認為商業模式設計(應用商業模式畫布)、精益創業的「創造 - 量度 - 學習」週期都被吸納在設計思維之內。甚至系統思維都被部分「DT專家」納入在設計思維的範疇。

設計向來是一個兼收並畜的領域,建築師與工業工程師都從事設計,但大家所需的知識及技能卻大大不同。雖說「所有的東西都是設計」,但這也令設計變成了一個言之無物的範疇!

要真正學習一樣事物並能好好應用,你必須要具批判性地學習及了解它。它的領域界限為何?應用層面背後有甚麼假設?這個概念能給我們帶來甚麼新觀點?有何好處?

若你從未考慮過這些問題,請現在停下來好好想一下。

5. 創意蓋過成效

現在有很多應用設計思維的不同領域的個案,但卻後少看到對成效的分享。

設計思維獲得大家的推崇和應用,理應有後多成功案例的享,對嗎?

我們見到的多是對創意的介紹,而非對業務或運作的實際得益。如Tim Brown所指,設計思維應當重視「期許性desirability」、「可行性feasibility」及「可續性viability」,而成功的案例應當能給我們眼前一亮的成果。而且經過了這麼多年,這些案例更應幾何級數地增加。可是,我們還是看到那些舊案例,大大成功的例子所見不多。(在六標準差/六西格瑪的年代,我們仍可以找到一些有可量成果的案例。)

這或許是因為一般定義的路線圖都止於試行或測試,最終推行階段並不包括在內。那麼,當創意的方案跑完快速原型階段而進入實際運作後,效果如何呢?

作為現在紅極一時的管理思潮,設計思維還欠我們一些教人心動,而且不是在事後將案例硬生生地將裝成設計思維的產物。

但是,對喪屍團來說,重點是放在「創意」和「創新」上。當然設計思維給了我們希望,特別是在經濟低迷時更如一點黑暗中的燭光。但沒有實質成果的希望只是空想或迷信。我們不難找到得到設計獎項或不受市場歡迎的產品,我相信你也不希望墮進這個境地吧!

達卡效應示意圖

喪屍是盲目地將設計思維推廣普及的產物,一個對事情一知半解的人往往認為自己已經掌握真傳,無所不能。正如達卡效應(Dunning-Kruger Effect)所指,知得愈少,愈是自信所知甚多(反過來說,就是知得愈多,愈感到目己所知只是冰山一角)。

達卡效應示意圖

普及地推廣設計思維,尤其是當遍地都是入門班、令人「自我感覺良好」的培訓課、以及五花八門的證書課程,容易給人「已得其精萃」的感覺,以為所得的小量知識已經是全部。當所知有限,便只會亂用術語、報事貼、表格畫布等來表現自己的「功力」。

一知半解往往比無知更可怕!一個新手的廚師往往會弄翻整個廚房。

領導應當如何

作為領導,你必須帶領團隊越過「喪屍地域」,提醒自己及團隊要經常保持謙卑的心,不斷學習。(這當然對其他範疇都適用)

認知是知識及改變的開始。得知自己有不足之處便是好好建立「信、解、行、證」週期的開始。設計思維的價值在其解決問題的能力,要真正了解及實踐必須付出時間和精力。千萬不要以為派遣幾位隊友上培訓課後,回來便可以教授他人。你相信參加一天的魔術課程後,你能在人群前表演魔術嗎?

還有,請不要把藝術與設計混為一談,兩者是有很大的分別的。藝術的重點是創作者的表達;可是,不論成品有多美觀或具「藝術性」,設計的目的是解決問題,對指定的用家提供能滿足功能的產品、軟體、或是能吸引新客群的廣告式樣。

強調設計思維是解難的方法,可以幫助你的團隊能更審慎地界定問題,選擇合用的方法及工具、以及合成解決的方案。當然,還有對成果的評價。


我們的團隊能助你培養具解難能力的領導,你可以 聯絡我們 了解更多。


讓我們在 LinkedInTwitter聯繫分享吧!

英文版本同時發佈於 Medium LinkedIn.

發佈留言

發佈留言必須填寫的電子郵件地址不會公開。 必填欄位標示為 *

希望與我們合作嗎?

如果你想了解更多我們能提供的協助,留言開始對話吧

error: Content is protected !!
English

Zensiblo Consulting

Design Thinking Zombies

Design Thinking is a good thing. It facilitates the business community toward more diversified and human-centered problem-solving. However, the rise of DT also brings the risks of people chasing the trend without really seriously learning the content.

I call these people Design Thinking Zombies, or DT Zombies for short. They are DT enthusiasts but stay at the stage of mere faith without really understanding the various concepts and methods.

To adopt the learning or enlightening cycle from Buddhism, you need to go through the path of “Faith”, “Understanding”, “Practice”, and “Realization” to really learn something. Design Thinking, like other management fads, is getting more like buzzwords and empty promises. Blind faith becomes superstition.

There are some observable characteristics of DT Zombies.

1. Design Thinking Word Salad

Zombies are hollow and mindlessly spitting out words with little meaning. They will make word salads by randomly combining terms like “design”, “innovation”, “job-to-be-done”, “value”, “customer journey”, “personas”, “creative”, “desirability”, “UX/UI”, etc. Knowing the buzzwords does not guarantee knowledge and impact. The more sophisticated zombies may give you the definitions of these words, but not the practical know-how of when and how of realizing them.

If you are patient and ask deeper questions like “What’s special about this design?”, “Why do you find this innovative?”, “What specifically are we referring to?”… and they will be stoned and respond with nothing useful.

I’ve seen the director of a main propellent of DT here in my town introducing a famous designer and his design (with many smarts built into it), the only highlight was “the charming eyes of the designer which conveyed deep intellectual insights.” For a layman like me, I could only say that I got confused and was stoned at that moment.

2. Everything Stickies

There seems to be a belief that stickies (Post-it notes) are an essential part of DT. When zombies see people using stickies in meetings or putting them on walls, they conclude that the company/group/people are using DT.

Well, stickies have been around for decades and I used them with clients since the day when I needed to organize ideas with my clients visually – in strategy sessions, while diagnosing and improving processes, etc. It is a great tool, but not a unique one for DT!

Zombies take cues from the use of stickies to signal if a group or company uses DT. Some even follow some color rules, like yellow for new ideas, and red for alerts, …

Don’t confuse the tools with the idea. A pair of running shoes does not make you a marathon runner!

3. Canvas, Canvas, and More Canvases

The DT “communities” are good at creating eye-catching canvases.

I love the way that canvases help organize ideas and guide thinking processes. But canvases cannot replace thinking. Zombies focus on completing canvases rather than spending time on the process required to arrive at the contents. You may need to do field research, interviews, and observations, consolidate information, organize viewpoints, do hard thinking and argue among yourselves. The value is in the process. But zombies don’t know this.

This is pretty understandable. When you are presented with a canvas, the instinct is to fill in the boxes. However, like kids having an essay assignment with a required minimum number of words, the word count becomes the prime objective and the quality of the content is greatly ignored.

We have to pay attention to the purpose of the specific canvas. Also, how are the different boxes and elements integrated together? What should be the narrative from the resulting canvas? And if you are using more than one canvases, how do the canvases work together?

4. Design Thinking as Cure for All

This happens to almost all management fads. DT started as a way to creatively solve problems and expand into a mighty heroic tool. You can use DT to change the world! Yes, an intangible concept and a set of tools can change the world. To what degree, and is DT the necessary and sufficient methodology (if it can be called one)? Or are we creating our own bubble waiting to burst?

Not all problems require a DT lens to view and solve. There are different categories of problems (a good reference is the Cynefin framework). DT may be good for some of the problems.

This also makes DT an ever-expanding domain and eschews the world into it. Some claimed that business model design, or the use of the “Business Model Canvas”, and “Build-Measure-Learn” cycle from Lean Startup have been absorbed in the “body of knowledge” of DT. Even the discipline of Systems Thinking is also “claimed” by some “DT experts” to be included in DT.

Design is a “discipline” that leverages different knowledge sets. Architects and industrial designers do designs – but with different knowledge and skillsets. Some say “everything is design”. Yes, but this also makes design a discipline of all things and nothing.

To truly learn something and make it useful, you have to critically learn and understand it. What are the boundaries? What assumptions are held to make it work? What perspectives does this “thing” bring us? How is this useful?

If you haven’t asked these questions before, please do that now.

5. Novelty Over Results

There are many cases of applying DT to different types of situations. The sad thing is, there are not many results we can really see today.

With so many people praising and practicing it, DT should have generated a lot of tangible results for businesses and communities. Right?

There are reports on the novelty and innovativeness of ideas, but not many results, especially in businesses. With DT as a human-centered approach that focuses on desirability, feasibility, and viability (according to Tim Brown), successful projects should yield real visible results. And over the years, showcases should accumulate exponentially. We are, however, still looking at those few showcases. Major successes are not evidenced. (** in the era of Six Sigma and Lean, we could still find more cases that produced tangible results.)

This may partly be due to the usual roadmap that “ends” at prototyping or test. The final implementation is not part of the deal. So, what happens when your idea graduated from rapid prototyping and goes live?

DT as a megahit these days still owe us some super-impactful showcases. This also means that we don’t retrofit other cases into the DT roadmap.

For DT Zombies, however, the focus is on the feeling of “novelty” and “innovativeness” of ideas. DT may give us hope, especially in economic downtimes. But hope without results is merely blind faith! There are products that won design awards but fail in the market. You don’t want your DT “products” to follow this track, right?

The Dunning Kruger Effect and Zombies

Zombies are the product of mass promotion of DT. It is easy for anyone to have a little knowledge and then feel that they are mightily capable. You may view this as the Dunning-Kruger Effect where the less you know, the more confident you think you know (or put it another way, “the more you know, the more you know you don’t know.”)

The Dunning-Kruger Effect Illustrated

Promoting DT to the mass, especially when there are so many introductory programs, “feel-good” training sessions, and certifications encourage the “I have learned it all” moment for many people. With little knowledge, all they can do is use buzzwords, stickies, canvases, and the like to “show” their knowledge.

A little knowledge is riskier than no knowledge. You mess up the kitchen when you think you are a novice at cooking.

What Leaders Should Do

As leaders, you need to guide your organization to ride beyond the initial “zombie zone”. Remind yourself and your people that we should always be hungry to know more about DT (and other concepts and ideas).

Awareness is the beginning of knowledge and change. Knowing that you may have some non-productive characteristics helps build our Faith-Understanding-Practice-Realization cycle. The value of Design Thinking rests on its problem-solving power. Understanding and practice need hard work and take time. Don’t assume you can send a few people to a training program and they can come back and teach others. Do you believe that attending a one-day magic workshop will turn you into a stage magician?

Also, don’t mix up art and design. There is a practical divide between “art” and “design”. Art is about expression; while a design, no matter how beautiful or artistic to you, aims to solve a problem. The design should be functional to the user, be it a product, an app, or an ad copy for attracting new customers.

Stress on using DT as a problem-solving method. Using this perspective, you and your people will develop a critical sense of how to frame a problem and how the various tools and methods can be used to arrive at solutions. Of course, it also facilitates the evaluation of the outcomes.


We help develop your people to be Problem-Solving Leaders. Contact us to know more.


Feel free to follow me on LinkedIn and Twitter. We can share more and grow together!

This article is also available on Medium and LinkedIn.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Ready To Start New Project With Zensiblo?

If you are interested in knowing how we can help you develop and improve, send us a note to start our conversation.

error: Content is protected !!
香港中文