天澤管理顧問

設計思維的樂與怒 (中譯本)

在過去數星期的社交聚會中,不約而同地都討論到設計思維(Design Thinking, 簡稱DT)及其所墮進的深淵。本文是討論中的內容及其延伸的個人意見。 假如你感到不爽,那也沒法了。

為甚麼設計思維曾令我感到眼前一亮

我在2008至09年間首次接觸DT, Tim Brown在哈佛商業評論的專文 及其他設計及商業社群中的資料,引起了我的興趣。性格謹慎及慢學的我,花了數年時間了解學習,在2013年開始把設計思維連結入我的工作之中。

我雖然並非設計專才,但設計思維的核心概念及工具對我來說卻並不陌生。DT巧妙地將整合出應用較廣的解決問題方法。而其中我最欣賞的是:

  1. 著重 「以人為本」,而非單單「以客為尊」。在我從事流程改善及設計的經驗中了解到,用家、流程的工作人員、及其他相關人士都是非常重要的。
  2. 設計思維重視發掘 不同的觀點。在接觸的初期,設計思維令我驚喜的是設計公司會招聘不同範疇的人,例如心理學、藝術、人類學等,來令觀點多元化,帶來更多的啟發,令定義問題及結成方案的空間得以大大拉闊。
  3. 設計思維是一個 反覆推演 的過程,實際進行時可能會有點條理不清。一般的路線圖只是用來勾劃出應有的邏輯順序,但實際不會如此按部就班。就是其他有效的解難方法一樣,應當是反覆驗證的,有時甚至會還原基本步,從頭再來。
  4. 強調 「思維」 或產生概念。實際推行是由個別專業人員的工作。假如我們以設計思維生成了對工作間設計的構想,最終還須需要建築師、室內設計師、產業專才等來可落實。

這些都是我喜愛設計思維的原因。

所以我將設計思維的概念及工具融入我的服務之中 ... 直至那它變成「管理潮流」為止。(* 一般而言,我把與客戶專案相關或有幫助的設計思維概念、工具及案例加入其專案工作中,甚少會提供一般性的設計思維培訓。不同的情況需要不同的搭配!)

為何我對設計思維生厭

其實,我沒有對設計思維生厭,反正設計思維並非人或實物,而是概念或一套方法,一套從設計界工作中整出來的方案,目的是令界別外的人(尤其是商界),能以更以人為本的方法解決問題。我們雖然共用一套相關的詞彙,但我們其實對其理解及演繹都各有不同。

所以我十分同意Natasha Jen所說的Design Thinking is Bullshit(設計思維是廢話)

設計思維彷彿已成為了個待破的泡沫。

說得更明確一點,設計思維並非問題,問題是那一個所謂的「設計思維圈子」。(若你感到被駡的話,請好好反思一下喔!)

「設計」這個詞十分有迷人,聽到了便令人神往,不自覺地聯想到「創意」、「創新」、「聰明醒目」...

就如很多管理概念一樣,設計思維得到很強的牽引力(traction,另一個管理潮語),而快速地被商品化。

要迎合普羅市場的需要,概念便要被簡化成路線圖、工具及表格畫布,甚至簡化到稚嫩的程度。

好的設計須要認真嚴謹地做出來。先說明一下,「同理心Empathy」階段並不等同設計調研。當你面對不同的設計問題時,應如何決定整體的手法?要掌握甚麼資料?如何獲取那些資料?這些都是調研的基本功。但人們通常只醉心於應用玩具、相片或水果進行調研小組訪談所帶來的新鮮感,而忽略了亮麗背後的用心計劃和執行。這並非只流程說「跑出辦公室來開清問題」便能做好。而且不要忘記,設計調研本身也可以是一個反覆進行的過程。

另外,所謂「靈感」亦非無中生有出來,而是需要有來自不同範疇的知識、啟發及構想,令你的大腦思考網絡能從中生出有用的點子,以及如何評估那些才是可行有用的方案。

常見的「可行性」與「影響」矩陣是高度簡化的工具,作為表達匯報的工具是可以的。不過決定每不方案應放在矩陣的甚麼位置便需要認真的考慮和比較,並非簡單的說說便是喔。

到底那些設計思維行者,有多少人了解到這些呢?

我看設計思維的浪潮就像個泡沫,或者可以說是黑暗時期之中。以下是其中一些跡象:

  • 突然間市面上湧現很多具有多年設計思維經驗的專家,坊間亦見到大量設計思維的證書課程(這有點想年前六標準差/六西格碼的綠帶、黑帶培訓系統),同時亦有為「認可」設計思維行者而設的導師課程來進一步推廣設計思維。
  • 修畢設計思維速成班的學員認為「設計思維是很有趣的思維衝激(Brainstorming)方法。
  • 人們以直線的方式依從路線圖進行設計思維項目。
  • 工作間有一幅貼上報事貼的牆便代表其正應用設計思維。
  • 公開發報的設計思維案例包含明顯的概念及應用錯誤。
  • 設計思維成為了萬用的解決問題工具,甚至被認為是唯一的方法。
  • 設計思維變得高度簡化及空洞,流於美麗的空談而欠實質行動。難道真的以一群有心人以同理心解決貧窮問題?或是以報事貼改善教育體制?不幸的是,設計思維已變了令人自我感覺良好的活動!

重點其實是:設計思維為帶來了那些實質的效益?有些朋友說設計思維的重要性是締造創新的企業文化。如是者,你如果知道你已成功?還有,是否有其他更有效的方法呢?

現在我們面對的危機,是正在製造一群 設計思維喪屍 ,四出「創新」及「解決問題」,但卻沒有做出甚麼效益。

其實我仍然喜歡設計思維

設計思維仍是解決問題及建立文化的好工具。

不過要緊記,方法、工具及表格畫布都是次要的,重要的是我們能培養相關的「思考」和「心態」。

設計思維應當是具有生命力的。我們從解決問題的過程中得到經驗和啟發,令自已能更進一步,解決更高難度的問題。好的設計師/解難者不應被方法或模式所規限,而應發掘或創造新的方法來完成任務,或從其他領域中汲收或借鑑,強化自己的能力。

不論我們稱呼它個設計思維還是演進式解難,都應助我們發展,提升思考的層次,不斷創造新的解難方法。

對我個人的啟發

我在想,是否應該 設計及籌辦一個體驗式的課程,來提升我們的解難能力?

你有興趣參與嗎?

發佈留言

發佈留言必須填寫的電子郵件地址不會公開。 必填欄位標示為 *

希望與我們合作嗎?

如果你想了解更多我們能提供的協助,留言開始對話吧

error: Content is protected !!
English

Zensiblo Consulting

Design Thinking – Love or Hate?

In the past few weeks, I met a few friends and associates, and the topic coincidentally fell on Design Thinking and all the way down the rabbit hole. The post is a recount and expansion of my very personal opinion from these Design Thinking conversations. If it offends you, you’re welcome.

Why Design Thinking Impressed Me

It was some time around 2008/9 when I first learned about “Design Thinking” (DT). Tim Brown’s HBR article and other stuff from the design and business communities sparked my interest. But I’m a cautious (and slow) learner. So, I spent the following few years learning more about it and started integrating Design Thinking into my client work only after 2013.

Although I was not a “design professional”, the core ideas and methods of DT were not new to me. It simply provided a beautiful package to do problem-solving in a wide context. A few things I valued most were:

  1. DT highlighted the need to be human-centered, not just customer-focused. From my earlier work in quality and process improvement/redesign, I knew enough that customers, process workers, and other “humans” were all important.
  2. DT stressed on developing different point-of-views (POVs). The first thing that DT caught my eyes were the trend that design firms hired people from a wide spectrum of fields – psychology, art, music, to anthropology – to gain different POVs and insights. This really broadened the possibility space in problem formulation and solution generation.
  3. DT is an iterative process. The real process would be messy. A roadmap only provided the logical steps that “should normally be” involved, but it was not a straight line. Like all problem-solving work, it should be iterative. Sometimes you have to go back to square one and start over again (and again).
  4. It stressed on “thinking” or practical idea generation. The implementation part was still the work of specific professionals. Say, we use a DT approach to design the very ideas of a workspace, the architects, interior designers, facilities experts, etc. do the actual work to realize the design.

Those were, and still are, what I like about “Design Thinking”.

Because of these, I integrated DT concepts and some methods into my client work… until the fad cycle kicked in. (* I usually include relevant concepts, methods, and cases into my projects/workshops for specific clients, rather than do “general” DT sessions. Different contexts require different flavors. We need to be user-centric!)

Why I Hate Design Thinking Now

Well, I don’t really hate it because DT is not a tangible thing! DT is a concept, or a practical discipline, that codifies the “thinking processes” and tools/methods of good designers to enlighten people, especially those in business, to move to a more human-centered approach to (creative) problem-solving. We use the terms together, but we are having different understandings and interpretations.

That’s why Natasha Jen said, “Design Thinking is Bullshit.” And I agree. Totally.

DT is now out in the wild and becoming a bubble.

Or more accurately, DT is not the problem, but the so-called “Design Thinking Community” is. (Again, if you feel offended, reflect!)

The word “design” is sexy. With “design”, your mind automatically adds the words “creativity”, “innovation”, “beauty”, “smart”, … and your eyes light up!

Like many great business ideas, the concept gains traction (another buzzword :p) and then it is now fully commercialized and productized.

To appeal to the general audience, the concept is simplified to roadmaps, a few methods, and canvases, to a point that it becomes rather simplistic.

Good designs require hard work. To begin with, “Empathize” does not equal design research. How do we decide what to do when facing different design problems? What information to gather? How should we get the information? This is Research 101 but people are just fascinated by the exciting research group sessions using toys, photos, or fruits! Behind the eye candies is careful planning and design of these research activities. It’s not just “get out of the building” and then you can nail it. How about the fact that design research can also itself be an iterative process?

Even intuition doesn’t come out of thin air. You need insights from different disciplines, knowledge from different fields, and exposure to a spectrum of ideas, etc., to build a neuro-network in your brain capable of generating those stimulations and intuitions, let alone the rigorous process of deciding what really works.

The simplistic matrix of feasibility vs impact is only good for the presentation. Placing your dots on the matrix requires work and brain power.

How many of those trained DT practitioners have these in mind?

Here is what the bubble, or the Dark Age of DT, looks like to me.

  • Experts with many years of experience suddenly appeared out of nowhere. Certification programs at different levels are instantly available. (This reminded me of the green and black belts for Six Sigma.) And there are train-the-trainer programs for “certified” DT practitioners to spread DT.
  • DT “graduates” telling me that “DT is an interesting brainstorming methodology”
  • People follow the roadmap in a straight linear manner
  • Sticky-notes wall becomes a hallmark for practicing Design Thinking.
  • DT case published which contained an obvious misunderstanding of concepts and methods
  • DT becomes an all-purpose problem-solving approach, even treated to be the only sensible approach. Really?
  • DT gets simplistic and hollow – many sexy buzzwords without real actions. Do you simply get a bunch of people going out “empathizing” with people and solving the poverty problem? Do you gather people and use sticky notes to improve the education system? DT is now more of a “feel good” activity.

The bottom line is: what real benefits have businesses gained from learning DT? Some argue that DT is for building a creative and innovative culture. If so, how do you know if you have succeeded? And most importantly, are there better approaches?

The risk is: we may be creating a troop of DT zombies running around to “solve problems” and “innovate” without really living the promise!

In Fact, I still Love Design Thinking

Yes, I still find Design Thinking a useful package to solve problems and transform culture.

But the methods, tools, and canvases are all secondary. The “thinking” and “mindset” parts are what we should value and develop.

Design Thinking should be generative. You gain experience and insights from a problem, and you get better at solving other problems in the future. Good designers/problem solvers should not be constrained by the framework or methods, but find or create new methods to get the job done. Good designers also borrow ideas from other disciplines to enrich their own toolset.

Design Thinking, Generative Problem Solving, no matter what you call it, should be used to develop people’s capability to go meta: solve problems and generate new and better approaches to solve problems. (Wait… NOT the metaverse @_@)

What All These Stimulated Me to Do

Here’s what I am thinking: To organize an experiential learning program to develop your generative problem-solving capability.

Are you interested?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Ready To Start New Project With Zensiblo?

If you are interested in knowing how we can help you develop and improve, send us a note to start our conversation.

error: Content is protected !!
香港中文